Search the Catalog

Booklist

Books To Read During Classical Music Month

Classical Music Month

September is Classical Music Month and to celebrate we've put together a list of book and music titles for those that enjoy listening to Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn, Bach, or any one of the masters whose music lives on today. Whether you’re a classical music aficionado or just looking to expand your musical palette, we have plenty of resources to help you enjoy Classical Music Month. Below you will find a list of books and music and if you want even more resources, check out this additional list we created in our Overdrive Collection!

September 2020 New Releases

September 2020 New Releases

A new month means new books here at Jacksonville Public Library! We've put together a booklist of September's must-read new releases for adults and kids. There are plenty of new titles released this month to check out. From Fredrik Backman's new book, Anxious People to The Return by Nicolas Sparks and Pete the Cat is back in Crayons Rock! by James Dean - here are some must-read new releases to look out for this September.

Votes for Women! Books That Commemorate The 100th Anniversary of The 19th Amendment

19th Amendment

 

Today marks the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment, guaranteeing and protecting women's constitutional right to vote. This historic centennial offers a unique opportunity to celebrate a milestone of democracy and to do so, we've put together a list of books for both adults and kids to commemorate and explore the importance of the 19th Amendment.

Brace Yourself, This Only Goes Through September! #Challenge2020: Library Edition Pandemic Books & Movies

Challenge2020 Pandemic Books brace yourself, this only goes through September

A new meme that perfectly summarizes the vast array range of emotions felt this year is going viral on social media. The #2020Challenge, supposedly started by celebrity Reese Witherspoon, has sparked other celebrities like Jennifer GardnerOprah Winfrey and Kerry Washington to share their own hilarious versions online too. So, of course, we had to join in on the fun too using titles that you can check out from our collection! Below is our version of the #2020Challenge meme but library edition with a link to check out each of the books below. What are your picks for October and beyond? Would you change anything?

Books With Homeschool Characters

Youth Fiction with Homeschool Characters Jacksonville Public Library

2020 has been a year unlike any other and going back to school will be no different. If you are contemplating homeschooling and are wondering how to introduce this lifestyle to your children, we've got some fun reads that will help your children learn about characters who are navigating being at home for school too. Sometimes, it's nice for kids to see themselves in the books that they read; to know they are not alone and that there are others out there who have walked in their shoes.

We All Scream For Ice Cream! Ice Cream Books To Help Cool Us Off

National Ice Cream Day

July is National Ice Cream Month and Sunday, July 19th is National Ice Cream Day, which is very convenient because it is so incredibly hot out! Whether you prefer vanilla or chocolate, cone or cup, there is no denying our universal love of this delicious frozen treat. Cool off with these sweet reads for both kids and adults!

Hamilton Read-alikes for Adults and Youth

Hamilton Read Alikes

Finally, we get to see what it’s like in the room where it happens. If you are not already a Hamilton fan, now is the perfect time to get in the loop about why so many people are crazy about the musical, Hamilton. You will immediately be hooked like so many other Hamilfans and come away looking for more.

Fire Up The Grill With 10 Sizzling Reads

National Grilling Month

July is National Grilling Month and every griller’s favorite time of year, so we’re celebrating with 10 books of delicious recipes! From marinated skewers of chicken, tofu or veggies, to thick cut steaks - pretty much everything tastes better after sizzling over a hot grill, even dessert! These books will take your barbie skills to the next level and most of them are available digitally so no need to worry about getting barbecue sauce on the pages.

Top 10 Food Trends And The Cookbooks To Make Them

Top 10 Food Trends and The Cookbooks To Use To Make Them

Here at Jacksonville Public Library we have thousands of cookbooks and many more available in digital form. To access a cookbook on your smartphone or tablet, you don’t even need to enter the library. Whether you’re a professional or a beginner, if you know what you want to cook and have a JPL library card, we can loan you a book that can help. 

Books for Father's Day

Books For Father's Day

Books for the Dad in your life! Some titles for father figures to enjoy on this Sunday’s holiday of great importance, Father’s Day! 

Jacksonville Public Library