Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Agriculture Collection

From animal feeds to zoonotic diseases, Agriculure Collection yields information in all agricultural-related areas for every kind of agricultural researcher.

Computer Database

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.  All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Science Collection

Information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.

Health Reference Center Academic

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Information Science and Library Issues Collection

Topics include information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.

Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

National Geographic Kids

National Geographic Kids logo

National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content.   On the home page you'll see content including National Geographic Kids Magazine, National Geographic Kids Books, and downloadable images arranged by content type.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library logo

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.  Available dates include 1888 to current.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Psychology Collection

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Glean from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports of others covering all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Science in Context

Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Jacksonville Public Library