Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Acceda Noticias

Spanish language full-text news articles collected from 8 national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database.
Los artículos españoles de noticias de repleto-texto de idioma reunieron de 8 periódicos nacionales--todo en un fácil a busca la base de datos.

America's Newspapers

Contains the electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. 

Florida Newspaper Database

Full Text journals and newspapers with a focus on the State of Florida.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

MasterFILE Premier contains PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more.

* Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.

National Geographic Kids

National Geographic Kids logo

National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content.   On the home page you'll see content including National Geographic Kids Magazine, National Geographic Kids Books, and downloadable images arranged by content type.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library logo

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.  Available dates include 1888 to current.

Popular Magazines

More than 1,000 of the most searched magazines, this database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles.

Proquest Digital Microfilm

Wall Street Journal (In-Library Use Only)

The ProQuest Digital Microfilm™ solution remotely hosts the Wall Street Journal for simultaneous online viewing and retrieval in it's original full-image in the library or at any Wi-Fi hotspot.

The New York Times with Index

(In-Library Use Only) Coverage: 1851 - 2013

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Jacksonville Public Library