Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Criminal Justice Collection

Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals to help in studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Jacksonville Public Library