Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

ABC-CLIO

In-Library Use     Remote Access

ABC-CLIO is a publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content.  

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-Library Use Only)

Contains over 450 million digitally enhanced census records from the U.S. Federal Census. Also includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; family history library; and much more.

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Digital Sanborn Maps

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The Library's collection in print format is bound in large, oversized books which can be cumbersome to use. Patrons are encouraged to use the Online or Microfilm formats as a way to gain easier access to map information. Library staff is always available for assistance with all three formats.

Diversity Studies Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural difference, contributions and influences in our global community.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

History in Dispute

History in Dispute addresses heavily debated questions by offering users different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.

History of the Holocaust

A collection of eBooks that deal with the Holocaust.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.

Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

Military and Intelligence Database

Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War

This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences. 

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

U.S. History Collection

This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history

as well as scholarly work established in the field.

U.S. History in Context

Provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

War and Terrorism Collection

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals

and students of military science, history, social science.

World History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History,

as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

World History in Context

World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present

and geographically around the globe.

Jacksonville Public Library