Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Military and Intelligence Database

Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Jacksonville Public Library