Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

ABC-CLIO

In-Library Use     Remote Access

ABC-CLIO is a publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content.  

ABCmouse

(In-Library Use Only)

Young learners, ages 2 and up, can play and learn with more than 3,500 interactive books, educational games, puzzles and other learning activities.

Note:  The ABCMouse app is required for mobile access.

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.  All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

History in Dispute

History in Dispute addresses heavily debated questions by offering users different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.

Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com for Library provides public library patrons with unlimited, cost-effective access to great content from Lynda.com plus courses offered in following languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Mandarin, and Portuguese—onsite or offsite.

Inspire anyone to learn the latest software, creative, and business skills. Give users of any skill level, bite-size tutorials, or comprehensive courses, on hundreds of topics. Encourage personalized and self-paced learning, roll out a new source of reference material, and offer a community benefit.

Miss Humblebee's Academy

Prepares children ages 3 – 6 for kindergarten proficiency. Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an award- winning, online curriculum for children preschool through kindergarten, providing strength in core subject areas: math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art and music.

National Geographic Kids

National Geographic Kids logo

National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content.   On the home page you'll see content including National Geographic Kids Magazine, National Geographic Kids Books, and downloadable images arranged by content type.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library logo

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.  Available dates include 1888 to current.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Pop Culture Collection

Discover a comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting pop culture.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Professional Collection

Professional Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content for educators. The database offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Science in Context

Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.

Scribner Writers Series

Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Twayne's Authors

Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.

U.S. History Collection

This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history

as well as scholarly work established in the field.

U.S. History in Context

Provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

Virtual Reference Library

Thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject from trusted, authoritative reference works available 24/7.

World History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History,

as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

World History in Context

World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present

and geographically around the globe.

Jacksonville Public Library