Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Career Transitions

Users will have a multitude of job search options, including temporary positions, apprenticeships, internships and entry-level positions. Helps users create targeted resumes and cover letters. Users will also find helpful tips and advice from career experts on applying for jobs, interviewing, networking.

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Small Business Collection

Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.  Users will find hundreds of full-text subject appropriate periodicals.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library