Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Business Collection

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.  Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Business Economics and Theory

Academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.

Business Insights: Essentials

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Company fundamentals and investment research reports industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

Business Plans Handbook Series

Search hundreds of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. Includes templates, fictional business plans, and a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants.

Communications and Mass Media Collection

This collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Computer Database

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

DemographicsNow Library Edition

Users may run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats. From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users will have access to demographic information such as: Population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses, retail sales, consumer expenditures, and more.

Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies.  Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and International media.

Gale Directory Library

The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information from both current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Reference Center Gold

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Provides both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Insurance and Liability Collection

Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com for Library provides public library patrons with unlimited, cost-effective access to great content from Lynda.com plus courses offered in following languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Mandarin, and Portuguese—onsite or offsite.

Inspire anyone to learn the latest software, creative, and business skills. Give users of any skill level, bite-size tutorials, or comprehensive courses, on hundreds of topics. Encourage personalized and self-paced learning, roll out a new source of reference material, and offer a community benefit.

Morningstar Investment Research Center

In-Library Use     **Remote Access     **Library card number must be all caps i.e. FJP000xxxxxxx.



Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. It is a trusted source for insightful information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Small Business Collection

Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories.  Users will find hundreds of full-text subject appropriate periodicals.

Small Business Resource Center

Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Jacksonville Public Library