Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

ABC-CLIO

In-Library Use     Remote Access

ABC-CLIO is a publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content.  

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Agriculture Collection

From animal feeds to zoonotic diseases, Agriculure Collection yields information in all agricultural-related areas for every kind of agricultural researcher.

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Digital Sanborn Maps

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The Library's collection in print format is bound in large, oversized books which can be cumbersome to use. Patrons are encouraged to use the Online or Microfilm formats as a way to gain easier access to map information. Library staff is always available for assistance with all three formats.

Diversity Studies Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural difference, contributions and influences in our global community.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.  All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.

Educator's Reference Complete

Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

Gender Studies Collection

Covers such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

General Reference Center Gold

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

General Science Collection

Information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

History of the Holocaust

A collection of eBooks that deal with the Holocaust.

Information Science and Library Issues Collection

Topics include information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Literature Criticism Online

The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. 

Literature Resource Center

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes 15-20 page signed essays on authors and literary genres from Scribner Writer's Series and the full text of 200 frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.

LitFinder

LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com for Library provides public library patrons with unlimited, cost-effective access to great content from Lynda.com plus courses offered in following languages: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Mandarin, and Portuguese—onsite or offsite.

Inspire anyone to learn the latest software, creative, and business skills. Give users of any skill level, bite-size tutorials, or comprehensive courses, on hundreds of topics. Encourage personalized and self-paced learning, roll out a new source of reference material, and offer a community benefit.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

MasterFILE Premier contains PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more.

* Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library logo

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.  Available dates include 1888 to current.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

Discover and comprehensice collection of periodicals supporting physical therapy and sports medicine.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War

This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences. 

Virtual Reference Library

Thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject from trusted, authoritative reference works available 24/7.

War and Terrorism Collection

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals

and students of military science, history, social science.

Jacksonville Public Library