Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

America’s Obituaries & Death Notices

Contains the largest and most comprehensive newspaper collection of obituaries and death notices with an easy-to-use interface. Search by name, date range, or text such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members, or other personal information.

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-Library Use Only)

Contains over 450 million digitally enhanced census records from the U.S. Federal Census. Also includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; family history library; and much more.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

The New York Times with Index

(In-Library Use Only) Coverage: 1851 - 2013

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Jacksonville Public Library