Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Agriculture Collection

From animal feeds to zoonotic diseases, Agriculure Collection yields information in all agricultural-related areas for every kind of agricultural researcher.

Communications and Mass Media Collection

This collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Culinary Arts Collection

Includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Diversity Studies Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural difference, contributions and influences in our global community.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmaking.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Reference Center Gold

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Home Improvement Collection

Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Provides both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.

Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

Pop Culture Collection

Discover a comprehensive collection of periodicals supporting pop culture.

PowerSearch

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Student Edition

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

World Folklore and Folklife

In-Library Use     Remote Access

Subjects include celebrations and rituals, food and drink, holidays and festivals, music and dance, religion and belief,

tales, myths, and Urban legends, traditional arts and crafts, music and dance, religion and belief.
 

A Note About the Content

Content in Daily Life Online reflects the voice of the people.

Jacksonville Public Library