Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

War and Terrorism Collection

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals

and students of military science, history, social science.

World Folklore and Folklife

In-Library Use     Remote Access

Subjects include celebrations and rituals, food and drink, holidays and festivals, music and dance, religion and belief,

tales, myths, and Urban legends, traditional arts and crafts, music and dance, religion and belief.
 

A Note About the Content

Content in Daily Life Online reflects the voice of the people.

World History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History,

as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

World History in Context

World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present

and geographically around the globe.

WorldCat

In-Library Use     Remote Access

Users can access the catalog information for millions of items in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries.

Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts

or text for some materials.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organizations.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library