Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.
Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.
Spanish language full-text news articles collected from 8 national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Los artículos españoles de noticias de repleto-texto de idioma reunieron de 8 periódicos nacionales--todo en un fácil a busca la base de datos.
The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled. Provides rock-solid information from authorities in the field and allows African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.
Contains the largest and most comprehensive newspaper collection of obituaries and death notices with an easy-to-use interface. Search by name, date range, or text such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members, or other personal information.
Contains over 450 million digitally enhanced census records from the U.S. Federal Census. Also includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; family history library; and much more.
Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.
Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people
Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Readers can use Books & Authors to enhance the experience of the book they are currently reading, digging deeper into its themes and origins, or learning how the author's life and times contributed to the work.
Also take advantage of the Read-A-Like wizard. Give us a book that you like, and we'll suggest books to read next, based on subject, author, genre, and more!
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Search hundreds of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. Includes templates, fictional business plans, and a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants.
Online collection of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. Includes cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
Users will have a multitude of job search options, including temporary positions, apprenticeships, internships and entry-level positions. Helps users create targeted resumes and cover letters. Users will also find helpful tips and advice from career experts on applying for jobs, interviewing, networking.
This collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Users may run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats. From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users will have access to demographic information such as: Population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses, retail sales, consumer expenditures, and more.
The Library's collection in print format is bound in large, oversized books which can be cumbersome to use. Patrons are encouraged to use the Online or Microfilm formats as a way to gain easier access to map information. Library staff is always available for assistance with all three formats.
The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.
A resource whereby users can access the content of thousands of full-text articles in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries. Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts or text for some materials.
Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.
Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library. Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.
(Only available inside the Main, Beaches, Highlands, Mandarin, Pablo Creek, Regency, South Mandarin, Southeast, Webb, and West libraries.)
Designed for the professional. Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers. Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.
Designed for the individual user. Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers. Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.
The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information from both current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.
Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.
News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Provides both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Insurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
Kids InfoBits is a content-rich resource featuring a mobile-responsive, modern, inviting interface with continuously updated content appropriate for elementary school students. This resource helps kids advance research skills and gain comfort with database searching.
Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.
LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes 15-20 page signed essays on authors and literary genres from Scribner Writer's Series and the full text of 200 frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organizations.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
MasterFILE Premier contains PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more.
Contains cataloged information about texts and materials in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts or text for some materials.
Prepares children ages 3 – 6 for kindergarten proficiency. Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an award- winning, online curriculum for children preschool through kindergarten, providing strength in core subject areas: math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art and music.
Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. It is a trusted source for insightful information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans.
National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content. On the home page you'll see content including National Geographic Kids Magazine, National Geographic Kids Books, and downloadable images arranged by content type.
As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. Available dates include 1888 to current.
Want to receive newsletters listing some of the hottest books recently published? Want to get the latest books in Health, Mystery, Horror, Science Fiction, or other genres? Subscribe to a NextReads™ newsletter and have a list emailed directly to you! Some are published monthly, others bimonthly.
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Sign up for one, or several book clubs, depending on what you like to read. You will receive a daily sample of the book. Each Monday starts new books in the clubs. Each day you will receive a little more of the featured book. By the end of the week, you will have sampled 2-3 chapters, enough to know if you would like to finish the book.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) is largest full-text, electronic resource available for information on terrorism and security, covering regional security, humanitarian and peace operations, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces, intelligence, military history, defense and national security, and military affairs.
Professional Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content for educators. The database offers balanced coverage for any professional educator or user interested in professional development.
This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Glean from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports of others covering all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
ReferenceUSA is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.
Scribner Writers Series provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author and their works in personal and historical context.
Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature.
This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences.
This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.
Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.
Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages. Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.
Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners. Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Twayne's is devoted to in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. It provides insightful and original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements.