Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Research in Context

Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research in Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organizations.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library