Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

National Geographic Kids

National Geographic Kids logo

National Geographic Kids is reputable, authoritative and child appropriate content.   On the home page you'll see content including National Geographic Kids Magazine, National Geographic Kids Books, and downloadable images arranged by content type.

National Geographic Virtual Library

National Geographic Virtual Library logo

As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.  Available dates include 1888 to current.

Next Reads Newsletters

Want to receive newsletters listing some of the hottest books recently published? Want to get the latest books in Health, Mystery, Horror, Science Fiction, or other genres? Subscribe to a NextReads™ newsletter and have a list emailed directly to you! Some are published monthly, others bimonthly.

NoveList Plus K-8

NoveList K-8 Plus helps parents, teachers, and librarians improve literacy, connect reading across curricular areas, teach reading and writing concepts, and engage young readers.

NoveList Plus: Your Guide to Fiction and Nonfiction

NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. As well as read-a-likes for every title, author, and series

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Lynda.com

Lynda.com is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For 20 years, Lynda.com has helped students, leaders, IT and design pros, project managers—anyone in any role—develop software, creative, and business skills. Now part of Linkedin, Lynda.com serves more than 10,000 organizations.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library