Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Please consider using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

LegalTrac

LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.

Literature Criticism Online

The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. 

Literature Resource Center

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes 15-20 page signed essays on authors and literary genres from Scribner Writer's Series and the full text of 200 frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.

LitFinder

LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.

Brainfuse HelpNow

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.

Codecademy

Learn to code interactively, for free.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses (GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library