Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Please consider using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Gale Directory Library

The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information from both current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.

Gale LegalForms

The most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

WARNING:  Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters.

Gale Literary Sources

Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Gender Studies Collection

Covers such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

General OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

General Reference Center Gold

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

General Science Collection

Information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Brainfuse HelpNow

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.

Codecademy

Learn to code interactively, for free.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses (GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library