Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmaking.

Florida Electronic Library

Search Magazines, Books, Newspapers and More in over a hundred databases from the Florida Electronic Library.  Narrow by subjects, grade levels or view the entire A-Z list. Read full-text articles from magazines such as Newsweek, Vogue, Wired, and more as well as newspapers such as USA Today, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and The Wall Street Journal.

Florida Navigator

Search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services.

Florida Newspaper Database

Full Text journals and newspapers with a focus on the State of Florida.

Foundation Directory Online Professional

(Only available inside the Main, Beaches, Highlands, Mandarin, Pablo Creek, Regency, South Mandarin, Southeast, Webb, and West libraries.)

Designed for the professional.  Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers.  Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

(In-Library Use Only)

Designed for the individual user.  Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers.  Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Go to Resource

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Available Tests and Courses

ADVANCED PLACEMENT

AP Biology

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library