Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Please consider using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Educator's Reference Complete

Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Electronic Collections Online: Full Text Magazine Articles

(In-Library Use Only)

A resource whereby users can access the content of thousands of full-text articles in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries. Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts or text for some materials.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

epguides

A vast archive of episode guides for television series past and present.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

Brainfuse HelpNow

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.

Codecademy

Learn to code interactively, for free.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses (GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library