Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Please consider using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

DemographicsNow Library Edition

Users may run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats. From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users will have access to demographic information such as: Population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses, retail sales, consumer expenditures, and more.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Digital Sanborn Maps

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The Library's collection in print format is bound in large, oversized books which can be cumbersome to use. Patrons are encouraged to use the Online or Microfilm formats as a way to gain easier access to map information. Library staff is always available for assistance with all three formats.

Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies.  Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and International media.

Diversity Studies Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural difference, contributions and influences in our global community.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.  All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Brainfuse HelpNow

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.

Codecademy

Learn to code interactively, for free.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses (GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library