Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Books and Authors

Readers can use Books & Authors to enhance the experience of the book they are currently reading, digging deeper into its themes and origins, or learning how the author's life and times contributed to the work. 

Also take advatage of the Read-A-Like wizard.  Give us a book that you like, and we'll suggest books to read next, based on subject, author, genre, and more!

Bureau of Economics and Business Research

This resource provides Florida’s official state and local population estimates and projections, the Consumer Sentiment of Floridians which is an important indicator of the state’s economic outlook, Florida's price, wage, and retail indexes and a county price level index, and The Florida Statistical Abstract.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

Business Collection

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.  Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Business Economics and Theory

Academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.

Business Insights: Essentials

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Company fundamentals and investment research reports industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

Business Plans Handbook Series

Search hundreds of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America. Includes templates, fictional business plans, and a listing of organizations, agencies, and consultants.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library