Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

Start your online research here!

Search the Jacksonville Public Library's online databases for free access to newspapers, articles, ebooks, and more.  You may need your Jacksonville Public Library card number handy for home access.

Please consider also using the Florida Electronic Library in addition to the resources listed below.

 

ABC-CLIO

In-Library Use     Remote Access

ABC-CLIO is a publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content.  

ABCmouse

(In-Library Use Only)

Young learners, ages 2 and up, can play and learn with more than 3,500 interactive books, educational games, puzzles and other learning activities.

Note:  The ABCMouse app is required for mobile access.

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Acceda Noticias

Spanish language full-text news articles collected from 8 national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database.
Los artículos españoles de noticias de repleto-texto de idioma reunieron de 8 periódicos nacionales--todo en un fácil a busca la base de datos.

African American Experience

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled. Provides rock-solid information from authorities in the field and allows African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

Agriculture Collection

From animal feeds to zoonotic diseases, Agriculure Collection yields information in all agricultural-related areas for every kind of agricultural researcher.

AllMusic

AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.

America's Newspapers

Contains the electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. 

America’s Obituaries & Death Notices

Contains the largest and most comprehensive newspaper collection of obituaries and death notices with an easy-to-use interface. Search by name, date range, or text such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members, or other personal information.

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-Library Use Only)

Contains over 450 million digitally enhanced census records from the U.S. Federal Census. Also includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; family history library; and much more.

ArchiveGrid

(In-Library Use Only)

Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Testing & Education Reference Center

Over 300 practice tests and courses GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system.  Transparent Language offers courses in over 100 languages.  Learn a foreign language before departing for your next trip with your Jacksonville Public Library card.

Transparent Language also includes KidsSpeak, a fun, easy to use language learning program for young learners.  Designed for elementary aged children 6 and up KidSpeak offers courses in Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.

Vocations and Careers Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

Jacksonville Public Library