Search the Catalog

Minutes Board of Library Trustees - November 21, 2019

Main Library Conference Center, Multi-purpose Room

Jacksonville Public Library

303 North Laura Street

Jacksonville, FL 32202


Carlo Fassi, Chair

Mario Payne, Board Secretary

Ronnie King II, Trustee

Jill Langford Dame, Trustee

Celia Nass, Trustee

Guy K. Anderson, Trustee

Donald Horner III, Trustee

Matt Swanson, Trustee

Steven Eagerton, Trustee

Virginia Haworth, Trustee

Fernando Meza, Trustee


Tim Rogers, Library Director

Julie McNeil, Deputy Director for Public Services

Gretchen Mitchell, Deputy Director for Support Services

Ray Albury, Assistant Director for Facilities Management and Planning

Chuck McNeil, Assistant Director for Financial Services

Chris Boivin, Assistant Director, Community Relations & Marketing

Marshelle Berry, Region Manager, North Region

Lynn Jacobson, Systems and Technology Manager

Charlene Adkins, Manager, Collection Development & Acquisitions

Lynne Baldwin, Region Manager, West Region

Tracy Pigott, Manager, Professional Development and Training Services

Richard Mott, Manager for Strategic Initiatives

Zoe Carr, Community Resource Manager


Marc Hardesty, Trustee

Others Present

Dr. Johnny Gaffney, Liaison to Boards and Commissions, Mayor’s Administration

Tia Leathers, Ex-Officio Trustee, Duval County Public Schools

Mari Ganues, Assistant Director, Pre-Teen & Teen Programming, Kids Hope Alliance

Margaret Smith, Friends of the Jacksonville Public Library

Roxanne Henkle, Friends of the Willowbranch Library

Judy Klein, Friends of the Bill Brinton Murray Hill Branch Library

Jeannette Ali, Friends of the Brentwood Library

Call to Order

Board Chair Carlo Fassi called the meeting to order at approximately 12:03 p.m.

Welcoming of Newcomers and Guests

No guests were recognized.

Public Comment

No visitors requested the opportunity to address the Board.

Honors and Recognition

Chair Fassi announced the eight winners of JPL Employee Awards for the fourth quarter of FY 2019.

Consent Agenda

The consent agenda was presented to the Board. It included:

  1. Board Meeting Minutes: October 24, 2019
  2. Monthly Financial Report: November 2019 (for month ending October 31, 2019)
  3. Trustee Jill Dame moved to approve the Consent Agenda as presented. Trustee Fernando Meza seconded the motion. Approved, unanimous consent.

Chair’s Report

Chair Fassi announced trustee committee assignments as follows:

Capital Improvements Committee

Chair: Guy Anderson

  • Steve Eagerton
  • Matt Swanson
  • Marc Hardesty
  • Fernando Meza
  • Carlo Fassi (Non-voting ex officio)

Finance Committee

Chair: Matt Swanson

  • Mario Payne
  • Celia Nass
  • Virginia Haworth
  • Steve Eagerton
  • Carlo Fassi (Non-voting ex officio)

Governance Committee

Chair: Jill Dame

  • Ronnie King
  • Mario Payne
  • Donnie Horner
  • Fernando Meza
  • Virginia Haworth
  • Carlo Fassi (Non-voting ex officio)

JPL Foundation Liaison

  • Carlo Fassi (Non-voting ex officio)

Chair Fassi made a motion to select Virginia Haworth to fill the office of vice-chair for the board. Fernando Meza seconded the motion. Motion approved, unanimous consent.

Director’s Report

Director Rogers presented his monthly report to the board, which was also provided in written form. Among other remarks, he explained the library’s decision to cease purchasing digital materials from Macmillan Publishers because of Macmillan’s decision to restrict libraries from purchasing more than one copy of each new e-book for the first eight weeks after any title’s release.

Ethics Training

Kirby Oberdorfer, deputy director of the City’s Office of Ethics Compliance and Oversight, presented the ethics training that is required every four years of members of all city boards and commissions.

Old Business – None

New Business – None

Mayor’s Office and Ex-Officio Reports

Ex-Officio Trustee Tia Leathers and Mari Ganues, Assistant Director of Pre-Teen and Teen Programming, each gave reports on items of relevance to the board from their respective agencies.

Committee Reports

As no board committees met subsequent to the October board meeting, there were no committee reports.

Friends’ Reports

Margaret Smith of the Friends of Jacksonville Public Library, Judy Klein of the Friends of the Bill Brinton Murray Hill Branch Library, Roxanne Henkle of the Friends of the Willowbranch Library, and Jeannette Ali of the Friends of the Brentwood Branch Library each discussed the recent work and upcoming events of their respective organizations.

Public Comment

No visitors requested the opportunity to address the board.


The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Jacksonville Public Library