Search the Catalog

Storytime Underground: A Study in Charlotte

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

 

Lean into this social distancing world with Storytime Underground! It starts with a great young adult book and ends with a bunch of different ways to make the story come to life right in your own room. Made for young adults or young adults at heart!

Don't miss any of these weekly do-it-yourself social storytimes! Visit https://www.jaxpubliclibrary.org/storytimesignup to sign up for these so you get them in your email inbox each week.


A Study in Charlotte

 

READ

A Study in Charlotte

by Brittany Cavallaro

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new series about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices-and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends. 

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe-and the only people they can trust are each other.

Click to check this book out right now.

 

TALK

 

Talk about these questions with your friends or family when you read the book.

  • Which main character do you identify with the most: Charlotte Homes or Jamie Watson? Why?Which character do you most identify with? Why?
  • Do you think Charlotte and Jamie have a complicated relationship? Why or why not?
  • In the novel, both main characters struggle with parts of their life in some way. In your opinion, what do you think the biggest character struggle is and how does the character develop from beginning to end?

 

 

WRITE

 

Write a short mystery story based on any of the following story starters: Girl with magnifying glass

  • A shrill cry echoed in the mist…
  • It was the day the moon fell…
  • Bleary-eyed, I went downstairs only to realize that the house was completely empty…
  • Uncertainty lurked around every corner of the small village I lived in…

     

DO

 

Mystery Journal

In the novel, both main characters use a personal journal to write down their thoughts. Make your own personal journal using cardboard, paint, and duct tape. For step-by-step instructions with pictures, click here: https://www.instructables.com/id/Journal-cardboard-duct-tape/.

Journal

 

PLAY

 

Would You Rather?: Super Powers Edition

Are you ready to use your super-sleuth abilities? Try your hand at any of these amazing free escape room games: 

https://www.365escape.com/Room-Escape-Games.html

Escape 365 logo

 

READ ALIKES

Read the rest of Brittany Cavallaro's series (and maybe check out the classic stories and some other twists if you dare):

 
Thursday, May 7, 2020

Jacksonville Public Library