Search the Catalog

Research

Online Research and Databases

ABC-CLIO

In-Library Use     Remote Access

ABC-CLIO is a publisher of reference, contemporary thought, and professional development content.  

ABCmouse

(In-Library Use Only)

Young learners, ages 2 and up, can play and learn with more than 3,500 interactive books, educational games, puzzles and other learning activities.

Academic One File

Academic OneFile is a comprehensive, up-to-date and easy-to-use resource for serious academic research. Home to nearly 13,000 indexed journals, Academic OneFile is available 24/7 and effortlessly delivers quality content for faculty, students, scholars and other researchers.

Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects makes Academic OneFile both authoritative and comprehensive.

Acceda Noticias

Spanish language full-text news articles collected from 8 national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database.
Los artículos españoles de noticias de repleto-texto de idioma reunieron de 8 periódicos nacionales--todo en un fácil a busca la base de datos.

African American Experience

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled. Provides rock-solid information from authorities in the field and allows African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 400 volumes, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day.

Agriculture Collection

From animal feeds to zoonotic diseases, Agriculure Collection yields information in all agricultural-related areas for every kind of agricultural researcher.

AllMusic

AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.

America's Newspapers

Contains the electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. 

America’s Obituaries & Death Notices

Contains the largest and most comprehensive newspaper collection of obituaries and death notices with an easy-to-use interface. Search by name, date range, or text such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members, or other personal information.

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-Library Use Only)

Contains over 450 million digitally enhanced census records from the U.S. Federal Census. Also includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; family history library; and much more.

ArchiveGrid

(In-Library Use Only)

Online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives.

Automobile Repair Reference Center

Auto Repair Reference Center(ARRC) is the most comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference information and contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis.

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people

Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Books and Authors

Readers can use Books & Authors to enhance the experience of the book they are currently reading, digging deeper into its themes and origins, or learning how the author's life and times contributed to the work. 

Also take advatage of the Read-A-Like wizard.  Give us a book that you like, and we'll suggest books to read next, based on subject, author, genre, and more!

Brainfuse HelpNow

On demand, anytime, anywhere eLearning. View how easy, intuitive and engaging Brainfuse HelpNow eLearning is for all ages and levels.

Brainfuse JobNow

JobNow, powered by Brainfuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.

Bureau of Economics and Business Research

This resource provides Florida’s official state and local population estimates and projections, the Consumer Sentiment of Floridians which is an important indicator of the state’s economic outlook, Florida's price, wage, and retail indexes and a county price level index, and The Florida Statistical Abstract.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

Business Economics and Theory Collection

Academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.

Business Essentials: Insights

Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Company fundamentals and investment research reports industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.

CAMIO - Catalog of Art Museum Images Online

(In-Library Use Only)

Online collection of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.  Includes cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

Career Transitions

Users will have a multitude of job search options, including temporary positions, apprenticeships, internships and entry-level positions. Helps users create targeted resumes and cover letters. Users will also find helpful tips and advice from career experts on applying for jobs, interviewing, networking.

CareerOneStop

Learn about careers, find career information, and locate career resources and advice with CareerOneStop.

Chiltonlibrary.com

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs.

Codeacademy

Learn to code interactively, for free.

Communications and Mass Media Collection

This collection provides current and accurate information in full-text from journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Computer Database (InfoTrac)

(In-library Use Only)

Computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Criminal Justice Collection

Users will have access to hundreds of full-text journals to help in studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security.

Culinary Arts Collection

Includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Demographics Now

Users may run an unlimited number of reports in summary, comparison or ranking formats. From population and Census data to housing expenditures, users will have access to demographic information such as: Population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses, retail sales, consumer expenditures, and more.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online

Biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Digital Sanborn Maps

In-Library Use     Remote Access

The Library's collection in print format is bound in large, oversized books which can be cumbersome to use. Patrons are encouraged to use the Online or Microfilm formats as a way to gain easier access to map information. Library staff is always available for assistance with all three formats.

Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media

Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies.  Scope includes U.S., Canadian, and International media.

Diversity Studies Collection

A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural difference, contributions and influences in our global community.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals

The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.  All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered that publish reserach or review papers in full text.

Duolingo

Duolingo is the world's most popular way to learn a language. It's 100% free, fun and science-based. 

Educator's Reference Complete

Content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Electronic Collections Online: Full Text Magazine Articles

(In-Library Use Only)

A resource whereby users can access the content of thousands of full-text articles in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries. Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts or text for some materials.

Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.

Detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

Provides instant access to the multiple viewpoints of this field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

epguides

A vast archive of episode guides for television series past and present.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Arts and the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.

FamilySearch

FamilySearch is the largest genealogy organization in the world. Millions of people use FamilySearch records, resources, and services each year to learn more about their family history.

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Supports research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmaking.

Florida Navigator

Search our collection and the collections of many other libraries worldwide using WorldCat, the world's largest network of library-based content and services.

Florida Newspaper Database

Full Text journals with a focus on the State of Florida.

Foundation Directory Online Professional

(In-Library Use Only)

Designed for the professional.  Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers.  Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

(In-Library Use Only)

Designed for the individual user.  Offers extensive program details for leading foundations; detailed application guidelines; and sponsoring company information for corporate givers.  Also includes a searchable file of over 400,000 grants.

Gale Power Search

Search for any term or phrase and find articles form thousands of magazines journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images, and podcast content.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture.

Gender Studies Collection

Covers such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.

General Business File ASAP

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.  Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

General Reference Center Gold

Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

General Science eCollection

Information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.

Health & Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases.

Health Reference Center Academic

Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

History of the Holocaust

A collection of eBooks that deal with the Holocaust.

Home Improvement Collection

Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Provides both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

IMDb

The world’s most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.

Information Science and Library Issues Collection

Topics include information infrastructure, data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

InfoTrac OneFile

News and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Junior Edition InfoTrac

This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Junior Reference Collection

Students have quick access to accurate information on their school's most-studied subjects: science, literature, arts, biographies and general reference among others.

Kid's InfoBits

Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Subject categories include animals, arts & entertainment, geography, health, history & social studies, inventions & technology, plants, people, science & math, sports, stories & literature and transportation.

Legal Forms Database

The most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

WARNING:  Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters.

LegalTrac

LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.

Literature Criticism Online

The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays. 

Literature Resource Center

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes 15-20 page signed essays on authors and literary genres from Scribner Writer's Series and the full text of 200 frequently-used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors.

LitFinder

LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.

MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

MasterFILE Premier contains PDF backfiles* (as far back as 1975) for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Judaism, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more.

* Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.

MEDLINE on First Search

(In-Library Use Only)

Contains cataloged information about texts and materials in all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts or text for some materials.

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

Military and Intelligence Database

Covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.

Miss Humblebee's Academy

Prepares children ages 3 – 6 for kindergarten proficiency. Miss Humblebee’s Academy is an award- winning, online curriculum for children preschool through kindergarten, providing strength in core subject areas: math, science and social studies, language and literacy, art and music.

National Geographic Kids

 Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take kids on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. 

National Geographic Magazine Subscription 1888-Current

National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with National Geographic Virtual Library. 

Next Reads Newsletters

Want to receive newsletters listing some of the hottest books recently published? Want to get the latest books in Health, Mystery, Horror, Science Fiction, or other genres? Subscribe to a NextReads™ newsletter and have a list emailed directly to you! Some are published monthly, others bimonthly.

NoveList Plus K-8

NoveList K-8 Plus helps parents, teachers, and librarians improve literacy, connect reading across curricular areas, teach reading and writing concepts, and engage young readers.

NoveList Plus: Your Guide to Fiction and Nonfiction

NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. As well as read-a-likes for every title, author, and series

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered. This collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Popular Magazines

More than 1,000 of the most searched magazines, this database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles.

Praeger Security International

Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) is largest full-text, electronic resource available for information on terrorism and security, covering regional security, humanitarian and peace operations, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces, intelligence, military history, defense and national security, and military affairs. 

Proquest Digital Microfilm

Wall Street Journal

The ProQuest Digital Microfilm™ solution remotely hosts the Wall Street Journal for simultaneous online viewing and retrieval in it's original full-image in the library or at any Wi-Fi hotspot.

Psychology Collection

This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Glean from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports of others covering all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Users of this collection can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives.

Science in Context

Supporting high school curricula and university coursework, Science in Context features authoritative information for assignments and projects, and provides detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography, this revolutionary, this curriculum-oriented online experience is designed to boost achievement for students and researchers.

Small Business Resource Center

Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Remote Access  In-Library Use

Small Engine Repair Reference Center offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.) as well as extensive repairs (engine and transmission disassembly) and allows users to search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type, and model numbers. PDF full text is available for all documents.

Something About the Author Online

Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators, all in an easy-to-use interface that is ideal for teachers, librarians, professors, students, and other researchers of children's and young adult literature.

Sources in U.S. History Online: The Civil War

This digital archive documents the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war in all its complexity; its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, from its causes to its consequences. 

Student Edition InfoTrac

This database is designed for high school students, with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Testing & Education Reference Center with Career Module

Over 300 practice tests and courses (GED prep, SAT Subject Tests, FCAT and many others.

Career module includes test prep help to obtain licenses for a career as a Practical or Registered Nurse, civil service. (firefighter, police officer, postal worker, realtor), teacher certification and many others.

Includes Online Resume Builder.

Information on over 4,000 accredited schools.

The New York Times with Index

(In-Library Use Only) Coverage: 1851 - 2013

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language using a self-paced, online language-learning system. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

U.S. History Collection

This collection of journals provides balanced coverage of both current thought on events in U.S. history

as well as scholarly work established in the field.

U.S. History in Context

Provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

VideoETA

VideoETA is the #1 source for release date information for DVD and Blu-ray. We also offer theatrical film and video game release information.

Virtual Reference Library

Thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject from trusted, authoritative reference works available 24/7.

Vocation, Careers & Technical Education Collection

Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics

covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones.

War and Terrorism Collection

A definitive periodical collection of hand selected titles for analysts, risk management professionals

and students of military science, history, social science.

World Book Online

The World Book Web is a suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections,

educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites.

World Folklore and Folklife

In-Library Use     Remote Access

Subjects include celebrations and rituals, food and drink, holidays and festivals, music and dance, religion and belief,

tales, myths, and Urban legends, traditional arts and crafts, music and dance, religion and belief.
 

A Note About the Content

Content in Daily Life Online reflects the voice of the people.

World History Collection

This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History,

as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

World History in Context

World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present

and geographically around the globe.

WorldCat

In-Library Use     Remote Access

Users can access the catalog information for millions of items in the online catalogs of thousands of libraries.

Links indicate how many and which libraries possess copies of the items, the subject areas discussed, as well as excerpts

or text for some materials.

¡Informe! Académico

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologia, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Jacksonville Public Library